Beyond the Wand

by Tom Felton

Before we get into the review of this specific book, I feel like there’s a bit of an elephant in the room that I need to address. In the last few years, I have become increasingly weary of and uncomfortable with my fandom of the Harry Potter world. 

When JK Rowling outed herself as a TERF (trans-exclusionary radical feminist), to say I felt shocked and disappointed is an understatement. Her dangerous views are so offensive and opposed to my values and those of many, many other fans and many of the actors and crew that have worked on the HP films. Perhaps in hindsight, the writing was on the proverbial wall but truthfully, I was oblivious to it. I had been of a mind that JKR could do no wrong and I was proved to be so ignorant, so unequivocally incorrect.

I haven’t been sure how to navigate this. I was shocked and appalled to learn it in the first place … I can’t even imagine how hurtful it must have been for the fans who are part of this community. How could someone who created something so wondrous be so close-minded and prejudiced and hateful? How could she openly campaign against the rights of the trans community when her writing provided such solace to some of these very same people?

My mom introduced me to the Harry Potter series when I was about 9 years old. We used to read them together before bed, a couple of chapters at a time. Those are core memories from my childhood and are probably foundational in fostering my love of reading. I was enamoured with the magic, the characters, and the stories. I wanted to be a part of this world. But not anymore. I recognize that there can be a difference between supporting JKR and supporting HP at large but in many ways, it doesn’t feel like it’s enough. It’s a razor-thin line to walk and while this is no fault of Tom Felton’s (or anyone else who has worked on the myriad byproducts of the HP world), my feelings around all of it now are complicated.

Whew. Okay. If you’ve made it through all that, thank you. Taking the movies for what they are as a source of entertainment, I have always enjoyed them. And I’ve enjoyed Felton’s performance in them so I was excited to read about his life before, during, and after his own Hogwarts experience.

This is his autobiography so it makes sense his personality shines through but it’s truly in everything, down to the chapter titles and even the table of contents! He seems to be the kind of person that doesn’t take himself too seriously which results in double-barrelled chapter titles like Transfiguration Troubles or Maggie and the Millipede. He’s easygoing, humble, and naturally quite funny. 

His self-awareness is on full display as some of his stories are honest to a fault. He makes it pretty clear that he isn’t narrating his past to make himself look good whether that is recounting an attempt at theft, literally sleeping on the job or when he finds himself in more recent years confronting his demons. I was impressed with the openness approached in these retellings and imagine that writing this provided quite the catharsis.

“But I was born enthusiastic rather than talented.” 

Beyond the Wand, p. 22

Before his time on the Harry Potter set, Felton was already something of an established actor, having appeared in commercials and films with big names such as John Goodman and Jodie Foster, but he still had that youthful naivety of wanting to be a regular kid. His family is a grounding force and being the youngest of four boys, Felton certainly got up to some (fairly innocent) trouble that reminds us that the lustre of stardom really is what we make it. 

Like most Potter film fans, I’m guilty of “shipping” Dramione in real life and was hoping Felton would dig into his friendship with the lovely Emma Watson. He doesn’t disappoint. Watson even wrote the foreword in which she wholeheartedly praises her pal and calls him her soulmate. They both admit to there having been some kind of spark but that it’s something much more profound than romance. They share a beautiful bond that I think any of us would be lucky to encounter in our own lives.

Getting to read about his interactions and relationships with the other actors, especially two of my favourites, Dame Maggie Smith and Alan Rickman, was downright fun! I loved getting to understand others through his lens. How people speak about other people also opens a little window of insight into themselves. His kindness and care in describing these connections show how much they matter to him. He doesn’t compromise honesty but always prioritizes compassion.

“The only true currency we have in life is the effect we have on those around us.” 

Beyond the Wand, p. 286

This edition includes an extra chapter that I’m grateful was included. It’s Felton’s deepest reflection on who he is, how he is interpreted, how he sees himself, and I think most important to him, how his family, in particular his grandfather, sees him. Felton writes some music on the side and is proficient with a guitar and ukulele. He includes in this chapter a few lines from his song, “Loster,” which I think round things out well. He’s growing, none of us ever stop, and his aim now is to keep close to the people who accept and nourish whatever that growth might look like.  

Thank you very much Grand Central Publishing for gifting me this copy in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a comment