Happy Place

by Emily Henry

In classic Emily Henry style, this book did not disappoint.

Harriet and Wyn were the perfect couple and as far as their best friends know, still are. The group’s annual trip to Maine will be their last since the cottage they stay at is being sold so they’re determined to make this last hurrah their most epic. But Harriet and Wyn broke up six months ago without telling anybody (for reasons neither of them seem very clear on) and now must keep up their ruse so the week is fun-filled and drama-free.

This novel is an absolute masterclass in character development—and not just with the main characters but the supporting cast as well. I might not be remembering correctly (apologies if not!) but I think this is the most attention to detail Henry has given to an entire friend group. We understandably get to know Harriet and Wyn well but their besties, Sabrina, Cleo, Parth, and Kimmy are fully fleshed out, too. Of course, we get to know them through Harriet’s eyes but the bond they all share is so wholesome and pure. They are one another’s found family.

We flip between their current Maine trip and various flashbacks that outline how the group met and grew together. Understanding where all these characters came from definitely contributes to our investment in them. Not only did I find myself rooting for Harriet and Wyn but I also worried about Kimmy’s hangover and Parth’s airhorn and Sabrina’s dad’s vintage wine collection. They are a group that is diverse and unique but find comfort and trust in each other. Like all friend groups, dynamics are susceptible to change as they grow up but we spend the entire novel with faith that they’ll be able to work everything out.

“Hearts can be so stupid.”

Happy Place, p. 164

The will-they-won’t-they between Harriet and Wyn was soon fun! As we get to better know who these two are as individuals and as a couple, I mean, it’s obvious that they are meant to be! But they have to put on their adult pants and work through very real and relatable issues that they had never even tried to face before. Their hardships felt incredibly genuine and I was actually admiring the level of respect they have for each other regardless of their relationship status.

Henry really writes banter unlike anyone else. I wish I was as witty and cute as the characters and conversations she writes. Their references, quips, and wisecracks are entertaining but also are, at this point, solace. This is my fourth go with an Emily Henry book and I know now that I can trust in her to surprise me and reassure me.

“It’s that happy-sad feeling, that intense homesick ache … The feeling of being so grateful to have something worth missing.” 

Happy Place, p. 195

Lastly, once again Henry gives a very subtle nod to one of her previous works’ characters in this novel! I LOVE when authors do this. As an author-loyal reader it makes me feel like I am on an in on a joke (and as someone who grew up forever the butt of them, this is a great feeling!). I’m jealous of those who have received arcs for Henry’s next release, Funny Story—I can’t wait! 

Leave a comment